What to do when in Oslo (part 2)

The most central part of Oslo is the blocks around main street – Karl Johan. The name of the street comes from a french soldier that ended up as the king of Sweden and Norway. (Yes, strange things happened in the old days!) I started my own vacation by making a photographic journey all by my self up and down the street.

If you didn’t get part 1 of When in Oslo – here you go!

The street (singulars) is actually not accurate, as the street is made up from several streets. The eastern part belonged to the inner part of the old city (within the walls of the city – way way back) and the broad part of the street, closest to the castle, is newer and was called Slotsvejen (“the Castle Road”). The two parts of the street meet on the Eger Square. And if you know the history (as you do now), you will most likely see that the street changes drastically. So when you come to Oslo you can say: “See the street changes drastically, do you know why?” You will probably get a free lunch from your fellow travelers for that piece of information. So, you are welcome! (Yeah right!)

Back to the present day. This friday I wasn’t that interested in the history of the street, more of the people walking and shopping up and down it. So I turned into a street-photographer! (And this is probably what most people do, when they are in Oslo.)

A collection of my pictures are for sale at my 500px site.

For me street-photography is to challenge boarders, mostly my own. But never over-stepping them, mostly other peoples. The law says that you are allowed to take any picture of anybody as long as they are on a public place. Some (the most of them) doesn’t care. Some do. And having an intrusive camera as the D3S doesn’t help. So I have to use my ears as much as my eyes. The man playing the guitar wasn’t very pleased when he saw me. Don’t know why. Maybe because I didn’t have any spare change. I usually don’t have any coins at all. I am an all-card kind of guy. He of course didn’t know that, and turned his back at me. Fair enough. I did get one picture of him, which was enough for me. The irony of the situation is however, that I was on his side. I wanted the picture to show that the life for the troubadour isn’t easy. For the most part tourists like to have them there when they visit a town, but they seldom give them any money. Most people walk straight by. Maybe they don’t like the music or they don’t have any change. That is a shame. Then again, neither had I.

Other than music there is always people selling soap-bubbles. This is (mainly) for the kids to chase after. But now ant then there are grown-ups equally interested in them. What is it with bubbles that fascinates us all our lives?

Now to the pictures I made.

Leave a Reply

